UCI School of Medicine



2023 School of Medicine Achievement Awards

Dear UCI School of Medicine Community,

The success of any medical school depends on the dedication of its faculty, residents and staff to the pursuit of teaching. We would like to thank all our faculty, residents and medical education staff for their unwavering commitment to the professional development of our medical students.

We are excited to highlight those faculty, residents and staff who have stood out in their dedication to creating a positive environment for our learners. We congratulate the 2023 School of Medicine Achievement Award recipients:

Gold Humanism - Resident Inductees

- Jessica Campos, MD
- April Carlson, MD
- Alexander Himstead, MD
- Eric Smith, MD
- Prashanth Venkataraman, MD
- Ram Wolman, MD

The Sterling Staph Award

Presented by the students to a resident in recognition of their excellence in teaching

• Prashanth Venkataraman, MD

The Golden Apple Award

Awarded to a clinical faculty member for outstanding teaching

- UCIMC: Cameron Harding, MD
- CHOC: Daniel Kang, MD
- LBVA: Robert Kaplan, MD
- LBMMC: Krishnansu Tewari, MD

The Silver Beaker Award for Excellence in Teaching by a Basic Science Faculty Member

Presented to a basic science faculty member for excellence in teaching, as voted by the MS1 and MS2 classes

• Kei Igarashi, PhD

AMSG Excellence in Teaching - First Year Course

Presented to a course for excellence in teaching, as voted by the student body

• Neuroscience

AMSG Excellence in Teaching - Second Year Course

Presented to a course for excellence in teaching, as voted by the student body

• Clinical Foundations II

AMSG Excellence in Teaching - Third Year Clerkship

Presented to a course for excellence in teaching, as voted by the student body

Internal Medicine

Medical Education Excellence in Teaching

Certificate given to faculty who are recognized for outstanding student evaluations and contributions to a course/clerkship

Basic Science

- Catherine Diamond, MD Department of Medicine
- Kei Igarashi, PhD Department of Anatomy & Neurobiology
- Ariana Nelson, MD Department of Anesthesiology & Perioperative Care

Clinical Science: Attending Physician

- Jaesu Han, MD Department of Psychiatry & Human Behavior
- Masaki Nagamine, MD Department of Neurology
- Tan Nguyen, MD Department of Family Medicine

Clinical Science: Resident & Fellow

- Emily Du, MD Department of Obstetrics & Gynecology
- Patrick Penalosa, MD Department of Obstetrics & Gynecology
- Prashanth Venkataraman, MD Department of Neurology

Dean's Scholar

• Sara Stern-Nezer, MD – Department of Neurology

The 2023 Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award

Award presented by the Arnold P. Gold Foundation to a faculty member who exemplifies compassion and sensitivity in the delivery of care to patients and their family members

• Samuel Lai, MD

AMSG Service Award - Bob Hammer Staff of the Year

Award presented to staff as voted by the Associated Medical Student Government as giving outstanding service to the entire student body

• Mary Paliescheskey

Medical Education Faculty Service Award

Award presented by the Office of Medical Education to a faculty member in appreciation of outstanding service in medical education

• Shannon Toohey, MD

Medical Education Staff Service Award

Award presented by the Office of Medical Education to staff in appreciation of outstanding service in medical education

• Lauren Stokes, EdD

Medical Education Department Chair Award

Award granted to a department chair or division chief who has promoted student development and exemplifies the spirit of medical education

• Peter Kaiser, PhD

Medical Education MVP Award

Award presented to staff or faculty in appreciation of outstanding service in the Office of Medical Education

• Deena McRae, MD

Please join us in congratulating these outstanding individuals and thank them for their hard work and commitment to our students!

Sincerely,

Michael J. Stamos, MD Dean, School of Medicine

Khanh-Van Le-Bucklin, MD, MEd Vice Dean, Medical Education

